Understanding why Nephi killed Laban

For discussion of liberty, freedom, government and politics.
liberty
captain of 100

Understanding why Nephi killed Laban

Post by liberty »

I have heard many times people saying that G-d can change doctrine or change his mind. I do not believe this. G-d is the same yesterday, today and forever. Some doctrines may appear to be changed but I believe it is because we do not fully understand G-d's law. Could it be that we need a different paradigm or greater understanding? Perhaps it is us mere mortals that do not understand G-d's ways. Nephi was living under Torah, G-d's law. He would have known about Goel Hadam (kinsman redeemer). I am by no means an expert on this. But I think it would behoove us to be willing to study Torah to understand the Old and New Testament scriptures and Book of Mormon scriptures that do not make sense to us. We are looking at things from a Western point of view instead of from the perspective of those who lived under Torah. Here is one persons explanation of Goel Hadam. You would need to understand that a mitzvah is a commandment.

"Some explain that the concept of go’el hadam is similar to the idea of yefas to’ar. The desire for vengeance is one of the strongest of natural desires, and the Torah therefore makes a compromise of sorts: It gives the family the basic right to avenge the death of their beloved, yet also arranges for the escape of the (inadvertant) murderer.

However, this explanation is difficult, because there are opinions that it is actually a mitzvah for the go’el hadam to kill the murderer (see Ramban, additions to Sefer Hamitzvos no. 13), and this certainly doesn’t match the explanation of giving a vent to natural tendencies. Moreover, if there is no go’el hadam, beis din actually appoint a go’el hadam (see Sanhedrin 45b), indicating again that this isn’t a matter of placating the natural dispositions of men.